This page is intended for physicians only. Please consult professional medical service providers for further information.

Are you a physician?
YES | NO
此頁面專為提供醫師參考使用。如需更多資訊,請諮詢醫療專業人士。

請問您是否為醫師?
YES | NO

什麼是青光眼?

青光眼是一種損害眼睛視神經的疾病,通常在眼睛前半部液體產生過多時發生。額外產生的液體將增加眼睛的壓力並損害視神經。

青光眼是目前全球第二大造成民眾失明的原因。罹患青光眼時,前期並無明顯的症狀而造成病情逐漸加重,您的光明將因此被逐漸奪去。幸運的是,早期的檢測與治療可協助您保持您的視力1.2

一般罹患青光眼之高危險群為老年人口,但新生兒也可能罹患先天性青光眼;青年人口也可能會有青光眼的狀況3

在健康的眼睛內,一種稱為「房水」的透明液體持續的在眼睛前半段循環。為了維持穩定的眼壓,眼睛持續製造房水並排出部分定量。當罹患青光眼時,房水無法正確的從眼睛內排出;眼壓因此而逐漸升高,進而損害視神經*1

青光眼的種類

青光眼有多個不同種類。
主要可分為隅角開放性青光眼與隅角閉鎖性青光眼。

隅角開放性青光眼

隅角開放性青光眼也稱為原發性或慢性青光眼,也是最常見的類型。開放性青光眼一般因排出眼睛內液體的通道被阻塞,造成眼壓逐漸上升並逐漸吞噬視力。因初期症狀不明顯,患者往往長時間內無法得知自己的視力正逐漸弱化*1.2

隅角閉鎖性青光眼

隅角閉鎖性青光眼,或急性青光眼相對少見。閉鎖性青光眼也因眼內液體堆積而造成高眼壓,但往往較快發生。症狀包含頭痛、視力模糊與眼睛疼痛*1.2

其他種類的青光眼

正常眼壓性青光眼
先天性青光眼
繼發性青光眼
新生血管性青光眼

青光眼的治療

藥物治療

  • 減少眼內液體產生,或協助液體排出眼外。
  • 需每日使用。

需與眼科醫師做每月諮詢,造成不便且可能費用高昂。

一般青光眼手術

  • 醫師將製作一濾泡於眼球上;此舉可協助液體從鞏膜瓣排出並經由眼睛血管吸收。

藥物如絲裂黴素(Mitomycin-C, MMC)或5-氟尿嘧啶(5-Fluorouracil, 5-FU)經常使用在青光眼手術中,且可能造成不同程度的傷害。與視原™膠原蛋白基質同時使用時可增加手術的預期性,使術後效果更好*1

青光眼手術+視原™膠原蛋白基質

  • 與一般手術相同,僅需將基質放置於鞏膜瓣上。

膠原蛋白基質將減少瘢痕形成,並協助傷口癒合。*2

青光眼手術+青光眼引流裝置(Glaucoma Drainage Devices, GDD)+視原™膠原 蛋白基質

  • 青光眼引流裝置通常能有效的降低眼壓

青光眼引流裝置通常用做引導眼內液體並協助其排出至其他部位並吸收。此裝置將永久留在您的眼內。與視原™膠原蛋白基質同時使用時可增加手術的預期性,使術後效果更好*3

視原TM 膠原蛋白基質-青光眼手術

患者手冊

問與答

絲裂黴素具有致畸胎性,且可能提高結膜薄化、濾泡滲漏、低眼壓、濾泡炎、眼內炎等的風險。相較之下,視原™膠原蛋白基質取代絲裂黴素後,可以透過抑制疤痕組織的再生修復機制,形成顯著的濾泡,確保手術成功。視原™膠原蛋白基質不僅解決了使用絲裂黴素的危險性,更可提升效率,解決手術製備、使用、與棄置絲裂黴素流程耗時的問題。

視原™膠原蛋白基質係經生物相容性規範(ISO 10993)之要求證實為安全且具良好生物相容性。該產品已於全世界應用多達16,000例以上,包含青光眼濾過手術、眼翳切除、斜視矯正、結膜結痂重建修復手術等。視原™膠原蛋白基質亦通過歐盟(CE Mark)、美國食品藥物管理局(FDA-510K)等認證。於小梁網切除術中可使用本產品以抑制瘢痕產生,無需使用絲裂黴素。

鞏膜外纖維化及結膜下瘢痕增生為導致青光眼濾過手術失敗的主要原因。結疤過程主要為手術創傷引導纖維母細胞至傷口週邊,增生並分泌排列緻密的膠原蛋白而形成疤痕,造成濾泡阻塞,使其失去原有之生物性和引流效果。相較之下,視原膠原蛋白基質能誘導手術後傷口周圍的纖維母細胞在基質內的多孔環境增生,待基質分解後,留下一個非結疤而鬆散排列的生理性組織,持續發揮濾泡功效,提高手術的成功率。在此同時,當視原膠原蛋白基質植入後,亦可於鞏膜瓣上的結膜下空間產生緩衝,避免低眼壓的發生,同時增加濾泡的體積和濾過效果,避免傷口沾黏和閉合造成濾泡失敗。

使用視原膠原蛋白基質時,不需要改變青光眼濾過手術(如小樑切除術)的流程,但是建議在縫合鞏膜瓣的時候,使用單一的鬆弛縫線、或是單一可調節式的縫線(而非傳統上數個緊密的縫線),再將視原膠原蛋白基質直接放在單一鬆弛逢線縫合的鞏膜瓣上,之後無須固定視原膠原蛋白基質,即可縫合結膜瓣。

由於使用視原膠原蛋白基質會遮蔽縫線,實務上時可採用單一鬆弛縫線或是單一可調節式縫線來克服拆線時所遇到的疑難。採用獨特之超薄規格(12 x 1 mm),則有助於透視視原膠原蛋白基質底下的縫線。建議在拆線時以Blumenthal Laser Suture Lysis lensVolk Optical, Inc. Mentor, OH)之鏡凸微壓或徒手按摩來顯現視原膠原蛋白基質底下的縫線。

視原膠原蛋白基質吸收了房水後會產生液壓,能增加鞏膜瓣上的壓力、並調節鞏膜通道引流的效果,此種特性可以避免防水過度流出,減少低眼壓的併發症。然而,若使用傳統的數個緊密縫線來縫合鞏膜瓣,則可能過度限制了防水的引流,減低其降眼壓的效果,更可能造成眼壓的升高。

  • 使傷口癒合時降低瘢痕增生,且無需使用抗纖維化藥物。
  • 能吸收房水產生液壓,防止前房塌陷。
  • 手術簡便,在原先流程上,使用單一鬆弛縫線縫合鞏膜瓣的技巧即可。
  • 促進濾泡的穩定性,防止濾泡漏液、發炎。
  • 可及時使用,極為方便。
  • 省去製備、使用、和棄置化學毒性藥物的流程,提升手術時間效率。
  • 並無絲裂黴素(Mitomycin-C, MMC)的致畸性。
  • 充飽液體的基質可於鞏膜中提供壓力與支撐點,維持前房的穩定性。

視原TM膠原蛋白基質為眼部組織修復專用醫療用品,主要使用於青光眼相關手術。 如欲做其他應用,請聯絡我們

© Copyright | Aeon Astron Europe B.V.

視原TM膠原蛋白基質尚未於部分國家上市。

此網頁中所有關於視原TM膠原蛋白基質的產品資訊皆以歐盟認證為基準。

This page is intended for physicians only. Please consult professional medical service providers for further information.

Are you a physician?
YES | NO
此頁面專為提供醫師參考使用。如需更多資訊,請諮詢醫療專業人士。

請問您是否為醫師?
YES | NO

What is Glaucoma ?

Glaucoma is a disease that damages your eye’s optic nerve. It usually happens when fluid builds up in the front part of your eye. That extra fluid increases the pressure in your eye, damaging the optic nerve.
Glaucoma is second leading cause of blindness globally. When glaucoma develops, usually you don’t have any early symptoms and the disease progresses slowly. In this way, glaucoma can steal your sight very gradually. Fortunately, early detection and treatments can help preserve your vision. *1.2

Older people are at a higher risk for glaucoma but babies can be born with glaucoma, and young adults can get glaucoma, too. *3

In the healthy eye, a clear fluid called aqueous (pronounced AY-kwee-us) humor circulates inside the front portion of your eye. To maintain a constant healthy eye pressure, your eye continually produces a small amount of aqueous humor while an equal amount of this fluid flows out of your eye. If you have glaucoma, the aqueous humor does not flow out of the eye properly. Fluid pressure in the eye builds up and, over time, causes damage to the optic nerve fibers. *1.

Types of Glaucoma

There are several types of glaucoma.
The two main types are open-angle and angle-closure.

Open-Angle Glaucoma

Open-angle glaucoma is also called primary or chronic glaucoma. It is the most common type of glaucoma. In open angle glaucoma, the channels that drain fluid within the eye become blocked, causing the pressure within the eye to rise. It causes gradual loss of vision. There are few symptoms so that people may not notice for a long time that they are losing their sight.*1.2

Angle-closure glaucoma

Angle-closure glaucoma, a less common form of glaucoma. It is also called acute glaucoma or narrow-angle glaucoma. In angle closure glaucoma, there is a similar build up of fluid within the eye, but the onset is much more sudden. Symptoms include headaches, blurred vision and pain in the eye.*1.2

Other Types of Glaucoma

Normal-tension glaucoma
Congenital glaucoma
Secondary glaucoma
Neovascular Glaucoma

Glaucoma Treatment


Antiglaucoma Medication

Antiglaucoma Medication

  • Reduces the amount of fluid or helps this fluid flowing out of the eye
  • Must be taken every day.

You will need to see your ophthalmologist on monthly basis, which might be inconvenient and potentially expensive.


Conventional glaucoma surgery

Conventional glaucoma surgery

  • A bleb is created and it helps the liquid in your eye drain to through the flap then be absorbed into blood vessels.

Chemicals like mitomycin C (MMC) and 5-fluorouracil (5FU) are commonly used, which might expose your eye to complications. The better results tend to be more predictable if combined with ologenTM Collagen Matrix.*1


Glaucoma surgery + ologenTM Collagen Matrix

Glaucoma surgery + ologenTM Collagen Matrix

  • Surgical techniques unchanged, simply place ologen CM on the scleral flab in the eye.

Collagen implant diminishes risks of scarring and results in better wound healing within the eye.*2


Glaucoma surgery+ GDD +ologenTM Collagen Matrix Patch

Glaucoma surgery+ GDD +ologenTM Collagen Matrix Patch

  • GDD is usually successful in lowering eye pressure if standard

surgery cannot be performed, it is designed to divert aqueous flow from inside the eye to an external reservoir. The device will stay permanently inside your eye. The better results tend to be more predictable if combined with ologenTM Collagen Matrix*3

ologenTM Collagen Matrix – Glaucoma

PATIENT BOOKLET

FAQ

Why should I consider ologen™ Collagen Matrix as an alternative to Mitomycin-C (MMC)?

Mitomycin C (MMC) is teratogenic and associates with increased risks for conjunctiva thinning, bleb leakage, hypotony, blebitis, and endophthalmitis. ologenTM Collagen Matrix is an alternative to MMC that results in a non-scarring wound healing with a prominent filtering bleb to enable successful surgical outcome. The dangers of handling MMC are avoided. The surgery is made more time efficient by eliminating the need for the handling, application and disposal of MMC.

How safe is ologen™ Collagen Matrix?

ologen™ Collagen Matrix has been demonstrated to be safe and biocompatible according to a series of biocompatibility requirements set forth under ISO 10993. ologen™ Collagen Matrix have been used in over 16,000 glaucoma filtering surgeries and other ophthalmic surgeries like pterygium excision, strabismus correction surgery, conjunctiva scar removal surgery. ologen™ Collagen Matrix is CE accredited and FDA 510(k) cleared for tissue repair and management of wound. It has been used in ocular surgery like glaucoma filtering surgery to induce non-scarring healing of ocular connective tissue without the need for MMC.

How does ologen™ Collagen Matrix enhance the surgical success rate of glaucoma surgery?

Episcleral fibrosis and subconjunctival scarring, the major causes of failure in filtering surgery, are formed as a result of migration and proliferation of fibroblasts followed by deposition of dense collagen bundles in the wound bed. ologen™ Collagen Matrix is a highly porous scaffolds that encourages random growth of fibroblasts through pores and secrete connective tissue in the form of a non-scarring loose matrix. ologen™ Collagen Matrix enables formation of bleb while maintains dynamic flow of aqueous humor.

Are there any special surgical techniques required to use ologen™ Collagen Matrix in trabeculectomy?

Implantation of ologen™ Collagen Matrix is easily adapted without altering the standard trabeculectomy technique. The scleral flap is closed with a single to two loosely tied suture or releasable sutures. The surgeon then places ologen™ Collagen Matrix directly above the scleral flap before closing the conjunctiva. No suture is required to secure the ologen™ Collagen Matrix.

What is the most common challenge seen by surgeons after ologen™ Collagen Matrix implant?

Occasional difficulty in lysing sutures with the laser through the implant has been encountered. The use of a single loosely tied suture or a releasable suture eliminates the challenge. Notwithstanding, it has been found that pressing firmly with a Blumenthal Laser Suture Lysis lens (Volk Optical, Inc. Mentor, OH) allows for visualization of most of the suture through the 12 x 1 mm2 ologen™ Collagen Matrix.

Why is the adoption of 1-2 loose sutures important before placing ologen™ Collagen Matrix over scleral flap?

The hydraulic pressures of aqueous soaked collagen matrix provide resistance at the outlet of the scleral tunnel. The excessive outflow of aqueous humor is limited due to tamponading effect of ologen™ Collagen Matrix over the scleral flap. Over tight suture will severely impede out flow of aqueous humor, and leads to raised IOP.

What are the advantages of ologen™ Collagen Matrix over MMC in glaucoma filtering surgery?

  • Induce a regenerative non-scarring wound healing process without the use of anti-fibrotic agents
  • Act as aqueous reservoir creating a buffer to prevent flat or shallow anterior chamber
  • The surgical technique is easily adapted to suture scleral flap with a single loosely tied suture or a releasable suture
  • Enables formation of physiologic, functional bleb to avoid late complications of bleb leakage, blebitis, and endophthalmitis
  • Can be deployed readily without prior preparation
  • Surgery is made more time efficient by eliminating the need for handling, application and disposal of MMC
  • Not a teratogen like MMC.
  • Hydraulic pressure of aqueous soaked matrix provide resistance at the outlet of the scleral tunnel and to maintain the anterior chamber

ologen™ Collagen Matrix is an advanced wound care device designed for eye tissue repair mainly for glaucoma surgeries, for ohter applications, please contact us.

© Copyright | Aeon Astron Europe B.V.

ologen Collagen Matrix is not available in all countries.

The product information of ologen Collagen Matrix shown on the website is provided according to CE approved instruction for use.